Zhu Yong wins Main Event at APL Road Series Vietnam

By superadmin
  • 0
  • 21 May,2019

It was an action packed weekend at Pro Poker Club in Ho Chi Minh City playing host to 16 day long Asia Poker League Road Series Vietnam. Only 8 contenders returned at the series showstopper –the VND  8 million (₹2.39 Crores) GTD Main Event.

The event crowned China’s Zhu Yong the champion. Yong sailed into the final day with a stack of 4,670,000 and dominated the field till the last hand. On the final table, he eliminated 6 players including Chu Thai Thinh, Feng Zhao, Vu Trung Thanh, Huynh Vinh Quang, and Melvin Tay Yao Loon with heads-up opponent Hong Kong Nguyen to win the title. He also took a paycheque of VND 1,700,440,000 (₹51.15 Lakhs).

There were 3 Indian challengers- Sahil Agarwal, Abhinav Iyer, and Sumit Sapra and they advanced to Day 2. Agarwal was only to breach the money line finishing 45th for VND 40,340,000 (₹1.21 Lakhs). It attracted 623 entries from its four starting flights, generating a prize pool of VND 9,064,650,000 (₹2.72 Crores). Day 2 began with 150 survivors and ended with 23 making it through to Day 3.

Huy Pham (12th), Norbert Koh (19th), Huu Tuan Nguyen (25th), Julien Tran (40th), Steve Yea (49th), Matthew Mortensen (51st), Cao Ngoc Anh (71st), and Alex Lee Xiang Wei (75th) were among the notables who finished in the money.

Interestingly, there was a ‘Last Man Standing’ contest between two clubs – Hong Kong Poker Players Association and Singapore Poker League with a free seat to the next APL Main Event up for grabs for the last man standing at the Main Event from either club. Eventually, it was third-place finisher Melvin Tay Yao Loon from SPL who won the contest.

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Zhu Yong – 4,670,000
  2. Feng Zhao – 3,895,000
  3. Vu Duc Trung – 2,940,000
  4. Hong Kong Nguyen – 1,825,000
  5. Vu Trung Thanh – 1,805,000
  6. Pham Quoc Anh – 1,335,000
  7. Melvin Tay Yao Loon – 1,170,000
  8. Huynh Vinh Quang – 520,000
  9. Chu Thai Thinh – 445,000