APT Philippines: Korea’s Siyoung Lee claimed his first APT title

By superadmin
  • 0
  • 07 May,2019

The Asian Poker Tour Philippines enjoyed an action packed at Resorts World Manila with an array of 23 events. The second marquee event at the stop-the PHP 82,500 (₹1.10 Lakhs) buy-in Championships Event played down to a winner. It already has a set of participation with 316 entries, the event wound up with nail-biting action that had quite the ending.

Korea’s Siyoung Lee edged past the crowd favorite and in-form Japanese pro Iori Yogo who had entered the final table as the chip leader heads-up, to walk away with the title and PHP 5,295,000 (₹70.78 Lakhs) in prize money. In fact, Lee was not in contention when the final table began. He was among the tail-end of leaderboard with a stack of 1,250,000 as Yogo led the group with a massive 4,565,000 in chips. Lee climbed up the ranks to the top to claim his first APT title.

Yogo failed in his attempt to defend APT Philippines Main Event title, but a runner up finish got him crucial points in the APT Player of the series race. The Japanese pro ended up winning the honor comfortably at the end.

There were five Indian players seen in action. Yasheel Doddanavar was the most visible of them and also the first among to post a score at the stop with his 15th place finish at the Main Event for PHP 306,600 (₹4.11 Lakhs).  He made a strong start in the Championships Event bagging the third largest stack on Day 1A with 200,000 in the bag among 49 runners. Amanpreet Singh came in through Day 1B with 153,800. But they were unable to hold their ground and got busted well before the end of play on Day 2.

Day 3 began with 50 survivors and concluded after the eight-handed final table was drawn.Tang Tian was unlucky as his elimination left the remaining 32 players in the money for PHP 153,900. Andrew Ngyuen (32nd for PHP 153,900) was the first player to bust in the money.

Other notables who added to their bankrolls include Soo Jo Kim (11th), Chen Yazhou (12th), Shyh Chyn Lim (14th), Tobias Peters (17th), APT Philippines Main Event champion Christopher Mateo (21st), Day 1B chip leader Ivan Tabucal (23rd), and Kar Ooi Low (30th).