Aussie Millions 2019: Anton Morgenstern wins A$25K PLO for $382,061

By superadmin
  • 0
  • 05 February,2019

With around 23 tournaments, Aussie Millions 2019 saw a number of international and acclaimed faces converge to felts at the Crown Casino in Melbourne. Team India was also seen with full of enthusiasm across several headline events at the series and returned home with three scores. Vinod  Megalmani  secured his 5th position for ₹6.87 Lakhs  and opened  the scorecard  for India  in the A$1,150 Terminator. It is Megalmani’s career best live score.

Aditya Sushant, the WSOP champion posted a deep run in the A$1,150 Hyper Turbo (25th for ₹1.22 Lakhs). He managed to reach Day3 of the A$10,600 Main Event with Vinod Megalmani and Paawan Bansal where he was the only one among the trio to make it past the money line (87th – ₹8.07 Lakhs).Bryan Kenney, former World Series  of Poker bracelet winner took down the Main Event  for A$1,272,598, the final week saw Cary Katz winning the A$100K Challenge for A$1,481,760.

The A$25,000 High Roller Pot-Limit Omaha crowned a champion yesterday. The event was introduced at the Aussie Millions this year for the first time and attracted 67 entries on its inaugural run. Germany’s Anton Morgenstern orchestrated a surprise comeback from the bottom of the rankings to capture the event to lay claim on the ANTON Championship ring with A$530,640($382,061) in prize money. It is his poker career’s second live PLO title. It is his biggest cash to date, after his 20th place finish with $285,408 in the WSOP Main Event 2013.

The heads-up play with Columbian pro Farid Jattin was also very challenging for Morgenstern. When it began, Jattin was holding more than two-thirds of total chips, but Morgenstern scored two huge double ups and deftly rode past the chip deficit to take over.

Another surprise was from Andras Nemeth. As the day1 ended, he bagged the overnight chip lead among 16 survivors with a stack of 518,500. Within the last level of play on Day2, he lost two big pots to stumble right to the bottom in chip counts. Although he tried to regain his foothold, but never make it. Eventually, Nemeth was knocked out by Jattin in 10th place.

The tournament allowed one re-entry and many players including Rainer Kempe, Cary Katz, Michael Gu, Dominik Nitsche, David Wang, Connor Drinan, and Andy Lee failed to make it to Day 2 despite firing a second bullet.

Johannes Becker, Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Jason Gray, Jan Larsson, Manig Loeser, Kahle Burns, and Jarred Graham were the other notable names that hit the rail on the opening day. All of them were denied a payout since only the top seven finishers were to take home at least A$96,480.