Raman Gujral wins first International title at the PCA 2019 ₹54.64 Lakhs

By superadmin
  • 0
  • 16 January,2019

After Young Gun Abhinav Iyer wins the APT Vietnam 2019 Main Event, Raman Gujral again makes India proud by winning another International title with one of the eight Platinum Pass winners.  This is his career’s first International title in the $1,100 NLHE at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure(PCA) 2019 for $76,760(₹54.64 Lakhs).

Raman Gujral is a poker veteran with over 15 years of experience in the game.  He is also known as the ‘Grandfather of Indian poker’. Gujral was among the five Indians, including Vivek Singh, Aneesh Nair, Saurabh Sindhwani and Kavin Shah.  They had qualified for the PSPC through the inaugural season of the GPL India. They were joined by Nikhil Segel, Sharad Rao and Sumit Sapra and they won passes through separate challenges and events. Captained by Aditya Agarwal and accompanied by multiple WSOP   bracelet winner Nipun Java, Team India stormed into the PSPC. Gujral, Sindhwani, Agarwal and Rao made it into Day 2 of the PSPC, but they failed to progress further.

Gujral became the first   Indian to post a score at the PCA 2019 when he finished 62nd in PCA $1,100 National Event for ₹1.64 Lakhs. The event had a total number of 406 entries that included 56 re-entries, creating a prize pool of $393,000.

The final table was a tough competition with hitters like British pro Florian Duta, German veteran Pascal Hartmann and WSOP bracelet winner Jack Sinclair all in the firing line.  However, navigating through such a competitive final table, Raman Gujral faced Ukraine’s Artem Zverkhovskyy. Gujral said that PokerStars has been very supportive before and even during the event and it feels like they have let them down by not cashing in the PSPC. So, this tourney win is kind of a redemption for Team India.

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Raman Gujral – $76,760
  2. Artem Zverkhovskyy – $48,440
  3. Jack Sinclair – $34,740
  4. Florian Duta – $27,600
  5. Mikhail Sokolovskiy – $21,640
  6. Pascal Hartmann – $16,960
  7. Wilson Lim Chong Way – $12,740
  8. Sean Paul Legendre – $9,060