PSPC set a new record with 1,014 entries on Day 1, Sharad Rao leads 5 Indians to Day 2

By superadmin
  • 0
  • 09 January,2019

The PokerStars Players No-Limit Hold’em Championship (PSPC) has arrived in style by setting a new record for a$25K event with a massive 1,014 entries on Day 1. This grand free event hosted at the exotic Atlantis Resort in The Bahamas is sure to set a tall record which will be really hard to beat.

Over the course of the year 2018, the company offered players the chance to win the Platinum Passes that won them a seat into the PSPC. Even without the lucky 320 who entered the event with passes, the PSPC would still be the biggest $25,000 Buy-In tournament ever. Only 745 out of 1,014 entries bagged their chips to move into Day 2.  Heading the survivors was British pro Talal Shakerchi with a stack of 425,300 with Dan O’Brien with 301,200 stacks and Alexis Gavin with 267,000 stacks.

Team India had a strong showing at the event with a battalion of 10 Indian challengers making their way to The Bahamas. Out of these players, 8 are PSPC Platinum Pass winners – Sumit Sapre, Nikhil Segel, Kavin Shah, Raman Gujral, Sharad Rao, Vivek Singh, Saurabh Sindhwani and Aneesh Nair along with Team PokerStars pro Aditya Agarwal and Nipun Java. Young Gun Rao topped the Indian contingent and progressed to Day 2 with a stack of 125,600. He was joined by Nikhil Segel (90,200), Aditya Agarwal (80,600), Raman Gujral (69,600) and Saurabh Sindhwani (65,500).