Poker Sports League is coming back with INR 3.6 Crores in prizes

By superadmin
  • 0
  • 25 November,2018

Infamous PSL (Poker Sports League) a concept introduced by Amit Burman, Anuj Gupta the co-founder of Adda52 and Pranav Bagai is back again this year. After its successful run last year with the mission of establishing poker as a mind sport in the country, they are coming back again this year. They started as the first of its kind poker league of the country, a genre which has now been populated by several other kinds of leagues already gaining mainstream spotlight.

The league gave all poker players from various states an equal platform to be a part of the league, while learning from the best minds of the country. With the inaugural event the league had 10 teams from the various cities of the nation owned by top entrepreneurs. The teams were, namely – Mumbai Anchors, Goan Nuts, Harayana Hunters, Gujarat Acers, Bengaluru Warriors, Kolkata Royals, Pune Sharks, Mumbai Anchors, Rajasthan Tilters and Punjab Bluffers.

The winner of Season 1 of the Poker Sports League was Delhi Panthers owned by Rishi Kajaria of Kajaria Ceramics, who walked away with a hefty INR 1.5 crore in prize money. The inaugural season of the league was well-equipped to be an instant hit, and the live stream of the league had registered 4.5 million views on Facebook, which states how impactful the league was.

The final table of PSL recorded 1.28 million views, which is even 10% higher than the WSOP 2015 Main Event Final Table views recorded on ESPN. After the successful inaugural league the team behind the series has finally announced the upcoming season that will unfold next year and this time. This time there will be 12 cities in contention with their home teams.
This is time has 2 new teams and an increased prize pool:

This year has 2 new teams that have been added to the contention and are still open for bidding. 10 franchises have already been locked-in with the promise of INR 150 crores in commitment spread over a span of 8 years. All the 12 teams will consist of a total of 10 players each (with one mentor, one captain, two players who are pro at poker, two players from free live qualifiers, two wild card entries and three players from free online qualifiers).

Speaking about the second season of PSL, co-founder and CEO Pranav Bagai announced the explanation for the two new teams added this season –
“Two teams are up for grabs. There are interests. The league owners are looking to get the best of the best on board. We are opening up two teams for bidding to give an opportunity to all the poker lovers across the country to be a part of this fantastic growth story. Interested parties are welcome to connect with me through the Poker Sports League Website”.

More for daily Indian poker championship news keep reading Poker Indian Group!